Barangay Ginebra’s Scottie Thompson hailed PBA 46th Season MVP

Barangay Ginebra’s Scottie Thompson romped away with the Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award, besting three other candidates in the 46th PBA Season Leo’s Annual Awards held at the Smart Araneta Coliseum on Sunday, June 5, 2022.

The 28-year-old Thompson, who hails from Digos City in Davao Region, said all the other nominees Mikey Williams of TNT, Robert Bolick of NorthPort, and Calvin Abueva of Magnolia deserve to win the award.

“Grabe, hindi ako makapaniwala, sobra. Gusto ko lang magpasalamat syempre kay Lord God binigay nya sa akin ito. Of course, sa lahat ng sumusuporta, ang buong Barangay Ginerba, buong PBA fans. Kung hindi dahil sa inyo, hindi namin makukuha ang award na ito (I still can’t believe it. I want to thank God for giving this to me. Of course, to all those who have been supporting us, the Barangay Ginebra, the PBA fans. Without you, we won’t be getting receiving this award),” he said during his acceptance speech.

The MVP honors added to his PBA collection of awards including Best Player of the Conference, Finals MVP, and Governor’s Cup championship. He also was a Most Improved Player early on in his career.

Thompson amassed 2,836 points from stats and votes from players, media, and the PBA, outclassing Williams (1,332), Bolick (1,295), and Calvin Abueva (10,66) for the most coveted individual plum. He succeeded San Miguel Beermen’s June Mar Fajardo who was PBA MVP for six consecutive years.

He said, “It means a lot to me. Yung hardwork, yung nangyari sa buhay ko ang dami on and off the court pero na-manage ko career ko. Through hardwork, discipline and faith kay God, andito ako ngayon, nakuha ko ito. So sobrang blessed (The hard work after what I’ve been through in my life, on and off on the court but I still managed my career. Through hard work, discipline, and faith in God, I am here with this award. I am so blessed).” 

Thompson led the Mythical First Team which was also composed of Williams, Abueva, Fajardo, and NorthPort’s Arwind Santos.

Meanwhile, Bolick spearheaded the Mythical Second Team that also consisted of SMB’s CJ Perez, Ginebra’s Christian Standhardinger, Phoenix’s Matthew Wright, and Magnolia’s Ian Sangalang.

The All-Defensive Team was composed of Meralco’s Cliff Hodge, Santos, TnT’s Kelly Williams, Magnolia’s Jio Jalalon, and SMB’s Chris Ross.

The Rookie of the Year title went to Williams while Juami Tiongson of Terrafirma copped the Most Improved Player award, and NLEX’s Kevin Alas received the Sportsmanship Award.

The PBA Season 47 also opened at the Big Dome with 12 competing teams. 

The team governors, players, and coaches paraded with their respective muses to add glitter to the ceremonies. 

Some of the muses were actress AJ Raval for Barangay Ginebraess. AJ Raval, actress Sue Ramirez for TNT, 31st Southeast Asian (SEA) Games double gold (triathlon, duathlon) medalist Kim Mangrobang for Meralco, beauty queen Michelle Marquez Dee for Magnolia,  Miss Universe Philippines 2022 Celeste Cortesi, and Miss Universe Philippines 2021 runner-up and Asia’s Next Top Model fifth season winner Maureen Wroblewitz for Converge.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *