Ranji Trophy 2022 and its History

In this article, you will find out information regarding Ranji Trophy. Ranji Trophy and its history.

The Ranji Trophy named after Ranjit sinhji, one of India’s first experienced cricketers, who plays for Sussex and England. Especially regionally by nature. The Ranji Trophy can be summed up as a first-class home cricket series. They played by different regional teams facing each other. Therefore, The series announced in 1934. And the first revision took place in 1934-35. Maharaja Bhupinder Singh of Patiala presented the trophy.

The competition launched following a meeting in July 1934. And the first games held in 1934-35. The trophy awarded to Bhupinder Singh, Maharaja of Patiala. The first match of the tournament held on 4 November 1934 between Madras and Mysore at the Chepauk Stadium in Madras. Mumbai (Bombay) has won the competition several times with 41 wins including 15 consecutive wins from 1958–59 to 1972–73.

The 2020-21 Ranji Trophy has cancelled. Due to the COVID-19 epidemic, for the first time since the tournament was launched in the 1934-35 season that the Ranji Trophy not held, instead, BCCI decide to organize -over 50 Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Ranji Trophy is a cricket tournament played in India. The tournament will be in its 87th season in 2022. The Ranji Trophy is a major first-class cricket tournament in India. The event is divided into two stages, with the league stage running from February 17 to March 15, 2022, and the knockout stage will be from May 30 to June 26, 2022. Saurashtra had already won the Ranji Trophy title. The previous tournament, the 2020-21 program, cancelled. Due to the COVID-19 epidemic.

The Ranji Trophy no longer has the same place in Indian cricket as it once did. With games played on empty stadiums. And a handful are being broadcast on national television. And more importantly, an IPL attack, it may come as no surprise. Many Indian cricket fans are unaware that the Indian Premier League final. ‘Local cricket tournament is played in Nagpur. Or that last year’s shocking champions Vidarbha. They defended their title against the resurgent Saurashtra. With Dependable Cheteshwar Pujara of the Indian Team at their batting levels.

But despite its decline in recent times. The Ranji Trophy has a rich history. They have hosted Indian cricket for 85 years. And as we approach another season, here’s a look at the tournament.

History of Name

The Ranji Trophy was the idea of ​​India Cricket Governing Board founder A.S. De Mello. He suggested the idea of ​​a national cricket tournament. As well as a drawing of the trophy — the Greek urn in use today — at a BCCI meeting in Shimla in July 1934.

It was to begin with named The Cricket Championship of India. Then Maharaja of Patiara, Bhupendra Singh, instantly agreed to fund the trophy. He suggests that it be named after Sir Ranjitsinhji Vibhaji Jadeja. Maharaja of Nawanagar, better known as ‘Ranji’, who died last year. And then there was the Ranji Trophy.

Ranjitsinhji became the first Indian cricketer to play world cricket. Strangely enough he played all the cricket in England. Representing Cambridge University,  England and the Sussex cricket team.

A successful runner, he considered one of the stars of his time. He is regarded for ‘inventing’ a leg-shotgun. Although he returned to India, he turned down an offer. To become a captain of the Indian team in 1911. And criticized for not contributing enough to the growth of the game in his home country. However, he became very interested in coaching his nephew Duleepsinhji. Who imitated his uncle, went on to play for England. And had a home cricket tournament in India, the Duleep Trophy, named after him.

Ranji Format

The format of the tournament remained unchanged until 2001. With teams organized into territories — north, south, east, west, and central. They are winners of each race play against each other to determine the winner.

From the 2002-03 season, the offenders’ program replaced by a two-tier system. An elite team consisting of 15 best teams. And the remaining teams are battling for a set of plates. The upper bouts featured two cutaways, fore and aft; the lower bouts featured two cutaways, fore and aft. This structure has made many times over the last few years. With the addition of different teams, many teams are given a direct chance to win a trophy.

The 2018-19 season saw nine teams make their first Ranji Trophy match and the formation of a fourth team over the existing three. But, with the advent of criticism from some regions, the format seems to be likely to be updated as well!

One region, three groups

In 85 years, the Ranji Trophy is about a year and a half longer than in India. As a result, many groups formed to represent the regions that later became independent. For example, Maharashtra has three groups — Maharashtra, Mumbai and Vidarbha. Mumbai or Bombay, as it known, is the centre of cricket in India and undoubtedly the best team in the country.

Vidarbha, with its base in Nagpur, was a separate country under the British; it has its own group. And the whole region represents  a Maharashtra team playing from Pune, the ruling Peshwas capital. However, Gujarat has three  groups. Saurashtra and Baroda were provinces. Where the Maharajas had a great interest in cricket. And had their own clubs. The entire region represents the Gujarat team.

On the other hand, many groups such as the Travancore- Cochin group. And the Punjab in the south and north have been replaced by their provincial factions in their post-independence sequence.

Sarfaraz Khan – Magical Innings

Mumbai striker Sarfaraz Khan burns in the Ranji Trophy. He continued where he left off before the Indian Premier League. The 24-year-old scored his 7th-century points in a top-flight home tournament. Sarfaraz’s 153 newcomer Suved Parkar’s. However, Suved Parkar put Mumbai in a cool place. In their quarter-final match against Uttarakhand at Alur Cricket Stadium 2 in Bengaluru on Tuesday.

Safaraz Khan has been in impressive form for the Ranji Trophy since the 2019-20 season. The Mumbai Batter finished top of the batting charts in 2019-2020, earning 928 runs in 6 games, including 301 draws. However, Sarfaraz averaged 154.66 in Mumbai for the campaign.

It will last until 2022; the Ranji Trophy started after the calendar turned off in 2020-21. Due to the Covid-19 epidemic, Sarfaraz continued his scoring streams. In the league stage, Sarfaraz started his campaign with 275 against Saurashtra in Ahmedabad. He then went on to hit 63 and 48 against Goa before hitting 165 against Odisha. In their last league match, Mumbai reached the playoffs.

However, In the quarter-finals, Sarfaraz emerged as Uttarakhand skipper on Day 1. And continued his attack on Day 2, reaching his 7th class first century. Sarfaraz finished with 153 runs off 205 deliveries, beating the limit in 2 overs. Safaraz hit 4 sixes and 14 fours while beating Mumbai.

Sarfaraz has taken his numbers from the ongoing Ranji Trophy season to 704 runs in 4 games, including 300.

According to statistics, Sarfaraz ‘first seven hundreds were all over 150 runs. And he was the first batsman in the history of the sport to do so. This concludes our insights regarding the Ranji Trophy. And its history.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *